12
Mar
10

Morning Has Broken

Or maybe it hasn’t, I’m not sure.  It has someplace.  Of that I’m certain.

In any case, greetings internet, I am Tim.  You may remember me from a long time ago on the OC blog.  Or not, it’s cool, I never called much and I stopped sending Christmas cards some time ago.

The crew, such as it is, here asked if I’d come aboard and are foolish enough to have given me admin rights.  Soon this blog will be covered in animated .gifs of Hello Kitty and Sailor Moon engaged in what can only be described as “inappropriate sex acts.”

No, that was a vicious lie.  It’s more likely to be all science, all the time.

I’m a former economist and bank analyst, presently studying chemistry because I got sick of the cubicle life.  That about covers it, I think.

Anyway, SCIENCE!

When you tell people you’re a chemist or studying chemistry, the first expression they always make is almost universally one of delight followed by, “So you get to blow things up, then?” accompanied by a kind of sadistic, almost psychopathic sort of smile.  To which, unless you’re the sort of person interested in very dangerous sorts of chemistry, the almost universal reply is “God no, I hope that never happens.”  For me, as a person with a primary interest in organic synthesis, this goes double.  Any of the things in the lab that explode (and that’s a lot of things with any fire around) will probably kill me or one of my lab mates.  Not a preferred outcome.

In fact, on of my very favorite blogs, In The Pipeline, has an entire series on how not to do things.  The latest is kind of a personal favorite: Hicks scavenge oxygen dewar.  Hicks blow up their truck and ruin an apartment.  It’s extremely lucky nobody was killed.  And that’s not always the case.

While the above are mostly amusing, sometimes lab accidents are deadly.  So, kids, those of you taking labs – follow the safety protocol.  Or you might kill yourself.

2 Responses to “Morning Has Broken”


  1. 1 Vincent
    March 12, 2010 at 6:18 am

    The crew, such as it is, here asked if I’d come aboard and are foolish enough to have given me admin rights. Soon this blog will be covered in animated .gifs of Hello Kitty and Sailor Moon engaged in what can only be described as “inappropriate sex acts.”

    Why on earth do you think I gave you admin rights in the first place?

  2. 2 CJ Ciaramella
    March 12, 2010 at 7:56 am

    Speaking of horrible lab safety, this seems as good as time to any to mention Demon Core, the plutonium core that killed to Los Alamos scientists in the 40’s (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Demon_core). Read it. It’s insane. This nuclear physicist was using a flathead screwdriver to keep a plutonium core from going critical.


Leave a Reply

